AUS vs IND: BCCI Announce India Team For Boxing Day Test Match

Credits: Twitter

BCCI has announced the final playing XI for the boxing day test against Australia. The Indian team are looking to bounce back in the series after a bad display at Adelaide Oval.

India made many changes to the lineup primarily due to the departure of Virat Kohli. The skipper returned back to India at the end of first test. This meant the team management made a plethora of changes to the batting lineup.

After a forgettable first test, Prithvi Shaw was axed from the team. On the other hand, young Shubman Gill will make his debut tomorrow. In the absence of Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane will be leading the side.

Gill had a very good domestic season and will look to capitalize this opportunity. He is expected to open with Mayank Agarwal at the top of the order. Rishabh Pant is also set to make a comeback into the team.

The young wicketkeeper has impressed in the practise match with a quick fire century. But he was not preferred ahead of Saha in the first test. However, a poor outing with the bat for Saha and the departure of Kohli paved way for Pant into the team.

Credits: Twitter

India also suffered a massive blow to their bowling unit. Mohammad Shami was injured during the second innings and did not come to bowl. So, Siraj is going to make his debut in this auspicious test match.

Ravindra Jadeja is also given a nod to play in Melbourne tomorrow. India are planning to play with 5 bowlers to strengthen their bowling.

India had a forgettable first test at Adelaide. After being on top for the first 2 days and amassing a massive lead in the first innings, Indian batsmen lost their plot in the second innings.

The team was dismissed for a paltry 36 as records tumbled. Australia won the match with a great display from their bowlers in just one hour. The hosts will be hoping to do the things in a similar way. However, Indian team face a major psychological barrier going into this match. A win for Australia will most likely tilt the entire series in their favor.

India XI: Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (c), Hanuma Vihari, Ravindra Jadeja, Rishabh Pant (wk), R Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here