Australia To Tour England For T20 and ODI Series

Australia's Steve Smith and England's Eoin Morgan, right, lead their players onto the field before their ODI cricket match in Melbourne, Australia, Sunday, Jan. 14, 2018. (AP Photo/Andy Brownbill)

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have confirmed the upcoming limited overs tour by Australia. Australia will play England in a three match T20 series followed by three match ODI series next month.

It is a known fact since the corona pandemic, cricket has taken a major hit. The virus outbreak is still at a peak level, at many parts of the world. However, both Australia and England have seen better results in containing the virus.

The European countries are slowly getting back into normalcy. This paved way for ECB to host the first test series post pandemic. Having already proved safe during West Indies and Pakistan tour, the board have planned to finish off the summer with a limited over series against Australia.

SOUTHAMPTON, ENGLAND – MAY 25: Steve Smith of Australia acknowledges the crowd after reaching his century during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Warm Up match between England and Australia at the Ageas Bowl on May 25, 2019 in Southampton, England. (Photo by Steve Bardens/Getty Images) *** Local Caption *** Steve Smith

“The rivalry between England and Australia is the pinnacle of sporting competition,” said ECB chief executive Tom Harrison.

“These will be thrilling contests and a perfect way to culminate the men’s international season in this extraordinary summer.”

Australia To Play Practice Games Ahead of Series

The rivalry between Australia and England is the oldest in world cricket that spanned close to 150 years now. England also managed to defeat Australia in world cup semifinal last year before going on to win the coveted trophy.

This series will provide a huge excitement for cricket fans. In order to best prepare themselves, tourists Australia will play a 50-over intra-squad practice game and three T20 practice matches before the T20 series commence.

“We owe a significant debt of gratitude to the players, staff and administrators of Cricket Australia for their efforts in getting this tour underway,” Harrison added.

Meanwhile, Australia already announced a 21-man squad which will take part in both ODI and T20 series. Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe and Daniel Sams could all make their international debuts.

On the other hand, players like Glenn Maxwell, Nathan Lyon and Marcus Stoinis could be called into action for Australia after a long time.

Australia’s T20 and ODI squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Complete schedule of the Tour

1st T20 (Ageas Bowl)- September 4
2nd T20 (Ageas Bowl)- September 6
3rd T20 (Ageas Bowl)- September 8
1st ODI (Old Trafford)- September 11
2nd ODI (Old Trafford)- September 13
3rd ODI (Old Trafford)- September 16

For Indian viewers, all the games will be broadcasted across Sony network. The digital platform to watch these games will be Sony Liv.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here