Delhi capitals got off to the worst start possible against Rajasthan Royals. After, losing the toss Delhi capitals lost their first wicket in the second over itself. The destructive batsman Prithvi Shaw give a catch to the fielder at point and he was dismissed. Shikhar Dhawan then became a victim of an outstanding catch.
Ajinkya Rahane too could not stay for long at the wicket. He was also dismissed for a single digit score. Then, the all-rounder Marcus Stoinis was out for a duck. This left Delhi capitals in tatters at a score of 37 for 4.
After that Rishabh pant took matters into his own hands. He played some breathtaking strokes to reach his 50 and also added valuable runs with the number 6 batsman Lalit Yadav.
Just when, Rishabh pant was looking to be set and score some more runs for his team, he was run out in the most unfortunate manner.
It was the 13th over of the match and Riyan Parag, a spinner from Rajasthan Royals was bowling. On the fourth ball of the over, Rishabh Pant played a ball into the leg side of the pitch and decided to take a quick run.
Pant does a blunder!
Little did he know that he is doing a mistake. Riyan Parag was equally alert and as soon as Rishabh Pant ran for the single, Parag too ran for the ball. By the time Pant had reached only the halfway mark the ball was into the hands of Riyan Parag.
He quickly turned around, took aim at the stumps and shot the stumps down. Such accurate was the throw that Rishabh Pant did not bother even to wait for the third umpires decision. It was totally the mistake of Rishabh pant. No way, there was a single available but still Rishabh Pant decided to take the risk and paid its price.
After his dismissal Rishabh Pant got a bit emotional about the mistake. Being a captain, it was expected that he would take decisions tactically but it was a major Blunder. Needless to say this just made him a bit emotional and he kept nodding his head. He was very disappointed while leaving the pitch. Even, Ricky Ponting the coach of Delhi Capitals was not happy at such a silly mistake from the captain.
Watch the video of the incident here: