Watch : 5 players refuse to play the India vs Sri Lanka ODI series


The India vs Sri Lanka series will begin in a week’s time. Indian team has already started their preparations under the leadership of Shikhar Dhawan. Moreover Rahul Dravid will be the coach of India for the first time. Since a lot of younger players are a part of the Indian squad, fans are eagerly waiting to see the performances of this team.

However just before the start of the series, a news has come as a major set back for Sri Lanka. As if the suspension of trio of Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis and Danushka Gunathilaka was not enough, five more players have been disallowed from joining the team bio bubble.

The five players are Lasith Embuldeniya, Vishwa Fernando, Lahiru Kumara, Ashen Bandara, and Kasun Rajitha. Actually Sri Lanka Cricket Board has offered a contract to a set of 25 players who would play against India. But only 20 out of the 25 players signed the contract while the other 5 did not. Hence, they were not considered to be included in team’s bio bubble.

Source – Twitter

Hosts going through a crisis!

Ashley De Silva, the CEO of Sri Lankan Cricket Board said about the players :

“Until the national contract issue is resolved they were asked to sign the tour contract if they are going to be available for the Indian series so that they can go into a bubble as we are investing in them. But they were reluctant to sign the tour contract and therefore they were left out of the residential camps. They did not join the bubble in Dambulla or Colombo.”

“These five were offered a tour contract. That is when you participate, they will also be considered for national selection for the Indian tour. For the Indian tour, you need to have a tour contract, which they didn’t sign as they are part of the 24 players offered national contracts. If they sign the tour agreement before the commencement of training for the Indian tour the selectors will consider them.”

It will be interesting to see what would happen next in the face off between the board and 5 Sri Lankan players.

The first ODI will be played on 13th of July.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here