Watch : Virat Kohli gives shocking statement after losing the toss


After a lot of wait, the final of the world test championship has begun. Consistent rain had forced the entire first day to be washed out. However, the loss of the first day will have no impact on the length of game as now, the reserved day will come into play. Hence, the test match will still be played over 5 days, if situations demand.

Meanwhile, at the toss of one of the most marquee clash in history of test cricket, Kane Williamson and Virat Kohli came in their respective team blazers. The New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to bowl first. The reason he said for that decision was the playing conditions which involves overcast conditions and helpful pitch for swing bowling. Moreover, the Kiwis are playing with four seamers in their ranks. The seamers are Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner and Kyle Jamieson. Not only this, their fifth bowler is medium paced allrounder Colin De Grandhomme.

Kohli not happy after losing toss!

As expected, Williamson looked happy after winning the toss. However, the same can’t be said about Virat Kohli. He looked displeased after losing the toss. Accordingly, that was visible on his face when he came to have a conversation with host of toss, Michael Atherton. The host asked him about what he would have done if India had won the toss.

No prizes for guessing, Kohli too said that he would have bowled first. That is because the conditions are quite conducive for seam and swing bowling. However, he quickly reaffirmed that he is not too bothered by batting first since its a final and runs on the board would help. The Indian skipper added – “Big final, runs on the board, however many you get, it’s always a bit of an advantage. The two spinners, they can bowl in any conditions. If there’s a bit of dampness, they’re really accurate and can make use of it as well”.

Meanwhile, Williamson declared his playing 11 at the toss which reads :

Tom Latham, 2 Devon Conway, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Henry Nicholls, 6 BJ Watling (wk), 7 Colin de Grandhomme, 8 Kyle Jamieson, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Neil Wagner, 11 Trent Boult.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here